Enjoying World!

Find your own way

The Carpenters – (They long to be)Close to You

2 Comments


Okay, this is really really an old song  (but still delicious to heard slurppp…). I’vehooked by this song cause my best friend singing it all along on the karaoke (and she always choose this one). Well, somehow I’ve gotten like it too and tadaaa! I can’t get rid of this song from my mind!!

This song is originally composed by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, but later got covered by The Carpenters duo, listed this song in Close to You album. Through this single, The duo winning grammy award for Best Contemporary Performance by a Duo, Group or Chorus in 1971. It became their first Grammy Awards.

Carpenters_LOGO

Later, this song has been covered by another singer or band, and can’t be denied as one of marketing strategy.

The Lyrics:

(They long to Be) Close To You

Why do birds suddenly appear
Every time you are near?
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you

Why do stars fall down from the sky
Every time you walk by?
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you

On the day that you were born
The angels got together
And decided to create a dream come true
So they sprinkled moon-dust
In your hair of gold
And starlight in your eyes of blue

That is why all the girls in town
Follow you all around
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you

[break]

On the day that you were born
The angels got together
And decided to create a dream come true
So they sprinkled moon-dust
In your hair of gold
And starlight in your eyes of blue

That is why all the girls in town
Follow you all around
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you

Just like me, they long to be
Close to you

(Ah, aahh, aahh) Close to you
(Ah, aahh, aahh) Close to you
(Ah, aahh, aahh) Close to you
(Ah, aahh, aahh) Close to you

You may download this song here:

Mediafire

or you could click on the box.net at the right to hear/ DDL it.

Come On, leave me a comment so I can prepare other song to review and downloads!

Author: reglest

Kind of shout out person, like to think throughly, love to speak honestly.

2 thoughts on “The Carpenters – (They long to be)Close to You

  1. I also like this song. But each time it’s played all I remember is the movie So Close. hehe 🙂

  2. Top of the world is always my fav. song from this duo. But, this one is also nice 😀

Leave a Reply

